Saurashtra overpower Mumbai, Assam pip Hyderabad

by   •  Last updated on
The spinners played a key role in Saurashtra's win against Mumbai
The spinners played a key role in Saurashtra's win against Mumbai © Cricbuzz

In what turned out to be a keen tussle at the Bandra Kurla Complex, Saurashtra emerged victorious by 48 runs against Mumbai. The hosts, who were chasing a target of 280, finished with 231. Spinners Parth Bhut and Yuvrajsinh Dodiya were the star performers as the duo shared eight scalps. Dharmendrasinh Jadeja also played his part by taking the other two wickets to fall as Saurashtra won against a side that had the likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Sarfaraz Khan, Prithvi Shaw and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Alongside scoring 78, Riyan Parag bagged a four-for in the second innings, which included the wicket of the last batter, Kartikeya Kak, as Assam pipped Hyderabad by 18 runs in a cliffhanger. On the final day, Hyderabad needed 22 to win but managed to add just three runs before losing Kartikeya.

Veteran spinner Shahbaz Nadeem bagged a five-for to pilot Jharkhand to a nine-wicket win over Services in Elite Group C. Alongside the left-arm spinner, Ankul Roy also chipped in with four wickets as Services were bowled out for 214 in their second innings. Jharkhand chased down the paltry target of 31 in just under eight overs for the loss of Ishan Kishan's wicket.

Himanshu Mantri (45), Saransh Jain (36) and more importantly Avesh Khan (30 not out) chipped in with crucial hands as Madhya Pradesh edged out Railways in a thriller by two wickets. In pursuit of a target of 215, MP were in a spot of bother at 177 for 7 but Avesh, batting at No.9, crunched a quick-fire hand to take the side past the finishing line. At 202, MP also lost Saransh but Anubhav Agarwal gave Avesh company to seal the deal for MP.

Siddharth Desai and Hardik Patel combined to pick up eight wickets between them as Gujarat thumped Chandigarh by an innings and 87 runs in an Elite Group D game at the Narendra Modi Stadium. Chandigarh could muster just 205 in the second dig. Jagjit Singh, batting at No.10, top-scored with 46.

Ponnan Rahul's unbeaten 66 helped Kerala usurp Chhatisgarh by a margin of eight wickets. In a modest chase of 126, Kerala did lose Rohan Kunnummal, Sachin Baby and Akshay Chandran but Ponnan's innings ensured a comfortable win. Earlier, Jalaj Saxena had taken six wickets in the second dig as Chhattisgarh were snuffed out for 287 in the second essay.

Abhay Negi finished with a four-wicket haul in the second dig as Uttarakhand upstaged Himachal Pradesh by five wickets. In pursuit of a rather modest target of 106, Uttarakhand lost five wickets, with Kunal Chandela steering the side to a victory with an unbeaten fifty. Earlier, Akash Vashist had top-scored for HP in the second innings with 111 to take his side to a score of 391, only to end up on the losing side.

Prafullomani Singh cracked a quick-fire 55-ball 87 to propel Manipur to an eight-wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh. Manipur chased down the target of 198 in just 42.2 overs. Opener Basir Rahman also played a key role with a gritty 112-ball 55. Earlier, Arunachal were bowled out for 251 in the second essay.

Nilesh Lamichaney cracked a crucial 216-ball 108 to ensure Sikkim's win over Mizoram by four wickets. Sikkim chased down the target of 244 in 77.2 overs. Lamichaney crunched 18 boundaries and stitched vital stands with Sumit Singh (52) and Ashish Thapa (43) to help the side recover from a precariously placed 17 for 3. Meanwhile, Remruatdika Ralte took three wickets for Mizoram.